Join now - be part of our community!

HELP I HAVE A VIRUS !!!

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
ilovefaith
Visitor

HELP I HAVE A VIRUS !!!

Hi everyone i would really appreciate some help please. My vaio netbook vpcm12m1e has got a virus through my own fault! I'm not very technical when it comes to electricals etc so like an idiot I didn't set my anti-virus thing up. I have been told that the only way to save my netbook (notebook, whatever) is to re-format the hard drive. I have tries to do the recovery thing via the vaio care on the start menu like the sony website advised but once i've completed all of the steps it requires, it says "preparing to restore system" for hours ( literally hours and hours.) I'm guessing my laptop keeps crashing like it keeps on doing because of this virus/spyware thing! Before this i downloaded loads of spyware removal tools and things and once they'd downloaded I couldn't access the desktop icon for them to start the scan for viruses, i'm guessing this is also because of the virus ! I really want to avoid having to pay for a repair so please somebody HEEEELLLPPP !

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
profile.country.GB.title
Thalamus.
Champion

Hi ilovefaith,

welcome to Questions & Answers..:smileyhappy:

Try restarting your vaio and when you see the Vaio logo press the F10 key repeatedly..

This should start the recovery process using the hidden HDD recovery partition.

Then follow the recovery instructions to complete the process.

Note: Running the recovery partition will remove all of your personal data and will restore your VAIO to an as new state. ie original OS and pre-installed application

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
profile.country.GB.title
Thalamus.
Champion

Hi ilovefaith,

welcome to Questions & Answers..:smileyhappy:

Try restarting your vaio and when you see the Vaio logo press the F10 key repeatedly..

This should start the recovery process using the hidden HDD recovery partition.