Join now - be part of our community!

Sony Bravia KD-49XG8096 does not connect to intenet after ugprading Andriod software

profile.country.GB.title
sony_bravia_man
Explorer

Sony Bravia KD-49XG8096 does not connect to intenet after ugprading Andriod software

Hi,

I upgraded my Sony KD-49XG8096 Android TV to PKG6.6545.0255EUA and now the WiFi does not connect to the internet. It was working perfectly before the upgrade and nothing has changed on the WiFi settings.
I went onto Sony Chat and they asked me check a number of things which i did
When i go to Help/View Network Status, i see the IP address with everything, then is drops off  with nothing, then it comes back again, it keeps doing this in a loop.

I have disabled 5Ghz, checked no parental control on router etc.
I am an IT professional with networking experience so i am not dumb to routers and their setup, but this seems an issue with the new software version
Truth be told, i did connected it to my Mobile using Hotspot, and it worked, so this would lead you to believe it is my router, but everything in my house connects successfully to the router on 2.4 or 5Ghz
To me it looks like a compatibility issue with the router and the new Android software

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

7 REPLIES 7
profile.country.IT.title
Marino.Manolo
Genius

Try a simple reboot on Android TV keeping pressed Power/OFF on remote, and retry the connection...

profile.country.GB.title
sony_bravia_man
Explorer

thanks for the reply. I have tried shutting down and powering off the TV for 3 minutes +, I also did the same for the Wi-Fi , but its the same. I ran through all the setups and still the same. What i dont understand is that it works on my Cell when using Hotspot. Maybe the authentication is the issue.

profile.country.IT.title
Marino.Manolo
Genius

In this case, I think you have to made only a factory reset...

profile.country.GB.title
sony_bravia_man
Explorer